Crypto news report · source clearly identified

Raiffeisen‑Bitpanda partnership targets 18 million customers, but actual crypto users remain unclear

Raiffeisen Bank International announced a framework with Bitpanda that could reach up to 18 million customers across 11 Central and Eastern European markets. The press release does not disclose how many users can actually trade crypto today.

Raiffeisen Bank International (RBI) and crypto platform Bitpanda signed a group framework on 23 September to offer digital‑asset services through RBI’s network of 11 Central and Eastern European banks. RBI’s June‑30, 2026 snapshot shows 18.8 million group customers, which the announcement rounds to an 18 million‑customer potential reach.

Scope of the agreement

The framework covers subsidiaries in Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Kosovo, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia and Ukraine. Five of these markets – Croatia, the Czech Republic, Hungary, Romania and Slovakia – are EU members, a factor that influences licensing and product availability.

What the numbers do not reveal

The 18 million figure represents the total size of RBI’s customer base, not the number of individuals who can immediately place a crypto order. The release provides no launch dates, no list of activated subsidiaries, and no breakdown of eligible retail users. Consequently, the lower bound of customers who can actually trade cannot be derived from the public announcement.

Existing Austrian model

Separate from the new CEE rollout, Austrian regional Raiffeisen banks already offer Bitpanda access. Raiffeisen Landesbank Niederösterreich‑Wien launched the service in 2024 via its “Mein ELBA” app, requiring a separate Bitpanda registration and limiting access to adult Austrian residents. Raiffeisen Salzburg announced availability in August 2026, offering more than 650 crypto coins and tokens through the same app.

Steps required for a customer to trade

  • Hold a Raiffeisen banking account and use a compatible mobile app.
  • Register for a personal Bitpanda account.
  • Pass age (18+), identification and residency checks set by the bank and Bitpanda.
  • Reside in a jurisdiction where the service is approved.

Each of these conditions reduces the pool of potential traders, but the exact numbers are not disclosed.

Regulatory context

Bitpanda operates under a MiCA licence from the Austrian Financial Market Authority. The partnership is a distribution model: the bank provides the entry point and payment account, while Bitpanda executes trades and holds assets. RBI does not act as a crypto service provider and therefore is not liable for Bitpanda’s performance.

Source & attribution

News Source

Publisher
crypto.news
Original date
September 24, 2026, 10:41 AM
Original headline
Raiffeisen’s crypto deal could reach 18 million customers. How many can actually trade?
View original report ↗